Sheopur Pincodes

Enter the Pincode or Location Below in the Box

Pincodes of Sheopur

Sheopur District, located in the northern part of Madhya Pradesh, India, is known for its rich cultural heritage and diverse wildlife. It’s a region marked by scenic landscapes and significant historical landmarks. The district features various towns and villages, each with its unique Sheopur pincodes, facilitating easy identification and mail delivery. Sheopur is a blend of tradition and natural beauty, making it a notable area in the state.

Sheopur Pincodes

Here is a list of Sheopur Pincodes

No.LocationPincode District State
1Agra476332SheopurMadhya Pradesh
2Arrod476332SheopurMadhya Pradesh
3Asida476337SheopurMadhya Pradesh
4Awada476339SheopurMadhya Pradesh
5Bagadiya476337SheopurMadhya Pradesh
6Bagord476332SheopurMadhya Pradesh
7Balawani476335SheopurMadhya Pradesh
8Bargawan476355SheopurMadhya Pradesh
9Beerpur476335SheopurMadhya Pradesh
10Bijaipur476332SheopurMadhya Pradesh
11Bukhari476339SheopurMadhya Pradesh
12Chambal Colony sheopur476337SheopurMadhya Pradesh
13Chimalwani476332SheopurMadhya Pradesh
14Dantarda Kalan476337SheopurMadhya Pradesh
15Dhondha476332SheopurMadhya Pradesh
16Dhondhar476337SheopurMadhya Pradesh
17Dord476332SheopurMadhya Pradesh
18Filozpura476339SheopurMadhya Pradesh
19Gadi476332SheopurMadhya Pradesh
20Gaswani476332SheopurMadhya Pradesh
21Ghunghas476335SheopurMadhya Pradesh
22Girdharpur476337SheopurMadhya Pradesh
23Gohar476335SheopurMadhya Pradesh
24Gohta476332SheopurMadhya Pradesh
25Goras476355SheopurMadhya Pradesh
26Gurunaawda476337SheopurMadhya Pradesh
27Heerapura476335SheopurMadhya Pradesh
28Iklod476332SheopurMadhya Pradesh
29Jaida Mandi476337SheopurMadhya Pradesh
30Jaini476337SheopurMadhya Pradesh
31Jalalpura476337SheopurMadhya Pradesh
32Javasa476337SheopurMadhya Pradesh
33Javdeshwar476337SheopurMadhya Pradesh
34Kalarna476337SheopurMadhya Pradesh
35Kanapur476337SheopurMadhya Pradesh
36Karhal476355SheopurMadhya Pradesh
37Kathon476332SheopurMadhya Pradesh
38Kemarakalan476335SheopurMadhya Pradesh
39Khirkhiri476355SheopurMadhya Pradesh
40Magrdha476332SheopurMadhya Pradesh
41Makdawadakalan476339SheopurMadhya Pradesh
42Manpur476337SheopurMadhya Pradesh
43Nagda476337SheopurMadhya Pradesh
44Ochhapura476335SheopurMadhya Pradesh
45Pada476355SheopurMadhya Pradesh
46Palpur476332SheopurMadhya Pradesh
47Pandola476339SheopurMadhya Pradesh
48Premsar476337SheopurMadhya Pradesh
49Raghunathpur476335SheopurMadhya Pradesh
50Randep476339SheopurMadhya Pradesh
51Ratodhan476339SheopurMadhya Pradesh
52Sahasram476332SheopurMadhya Pradesh
53Sarsai476355SheopurMadhya Pradesh
54Sheopur476337SheopurMadhya Pradesh
55Sheopur Baroda476339SheopurMadhya Pradesh
56Shyampur476335SheopurMadhya Pradesh
57Silpuri476355SheopurMadhya Pradesh
58Soi Kalan476337SheopurMadhya Pradesh
59Sonthwa476337SheopurMadhya Pradesh
60Sunswada476355SheopurMadhya Pradesh
61Tarra Kalan476335SheopurMadhya Pradesh
62Tillipur476337SheopurMadhya Pradesh
63Tulsef476339SheopurMadhya Pradesh
64Udhotpura476339SheopurMadhya Pradesh

About Sheopur

Sheopur District, situated in the northern part of Madhya Pradesh in Central India, is part of the Chambal division. It’s close to Rajasthan, which influences its Rajasthani cultural aspects. Sheopur town is the main administrative center, with other significant towns being Bijeypur, Karahal, and Badoda. The district, spanning 6,606 km², has a population of about 687,861 as per the 2011 census, making it one of the least populated districts in the state, only more populous than Harda and Umaria. Additionally, it’s recognized as one of the 21 tribal districts in Madhya Pradesh.


Founded in 1537 by Indra Singh, a Gaur Rajput under Jaipur, the town of Sheopur and its fort have a rich history. Notably, Sheopur surrendered to Akbar during his Chittor campaign and later integrated into Ranthambore Sarkar. In 1808, Daulat Rao Scindia of Gwalior took over, handing it to General Jean Baptiste Filose, who expelled the Gaurs in 1809. After conflicts including Jai Singh of Raghogarh capturing the fort, the town remained with Gwalior state until India’s independence in 1947 and became part of Madhya Pradesh in 1956. Sheopur district was officially formed from Morena District in 1998.


Sheopur district, situated in the northern part of Madhya Pradesh within the Chambal division, shares its borders with Morena district to the north, Gwalior district to the east, Shivpuri district to the southeast, and the state of Rajasthan to the south and northwest.

The district is predominantly characterized by the Chambal ravines, with the Chambal River forming the boundary with Rajasthan. To the southeast of the Chambal lies a plateau area, which extends to a series of forest-covered hills in the district’s eastern part, the location of Kuno Wildlife Sanctuary.


In 2006, the Ministry of Panchayati Raj identified Sheopur as one of India’s 250 most underdeveloped districts among a total of 640. Presently, it is among the 24 districts in Madhya Pradesh receiving financial support through the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme (BRGF).


As of the 2011 census, Sheopur District had a population of 687,861, ranking it 505th in India among 640 districts. The district’s population density is 104 people per square kilometer. There are 902 women for every 1,000 men in Sheopur, and the literacy rate is 58.02%. About 15.61% of the population resides in urban areas. The Saharia tribe is the predominant community in the region. During the 2011 Census of India, 94.27% of people in the district reported Hindi as their primary language, followed by 2.02% speaking Urdu, 1.73% Handuri, and 0.91% Punjabi.


Sheopur district is divided into three sub-divisions: Sheopur, Vijaypur, and Karahal. Within the Sheopur sub-division, there are two tehsils, Sheopur and Baroda. The Vijaypur sub-division contains two tehsils as well: Vijaypur and Veerpur. The Karahal sub-division consists solely of the Karahal tehsil. The district has two urban local bodies, the nagar palikas of Sheopur and Baroda, and a nagar panchayat in Vijaypur.

Politically, the district is split into two Vidhan Sabha (legislative assembly) constituencies: Sheopur and Vijaypur. Both constituencies fall under the Morena Lok Sabha (parliamentary) constituency.


Why is Sheopur famous?

Sheopur, a city located in the central Indian state of Madhya Pradesh, serves as the administrative center for Sheopur District. Although previously connected to Gwalior by a narrow-gauge railway, this service is no longer operational. The town is well-known for its traditional expertise in wood carving.

How many Tehsil are there in Sheopur district?

Sheopur district consists of five tehsils. They are: 1. Sheopur 2. Vijaypur 3. Karahal 4. Baroda 5. Veerpur

When was the Sheopur district formed?

Sheopur district was officially formed on 22nd May1998. This creation was part of a larger administrative reorganization in Madhya Pradesh, leading to the formation of several new districts. Sheopur was carved out from the larger Morena District, becoming an independent administrative entity with its own district headquarters. This restructuring aimed to improve local governance and bring administrative services closer to the residents of this region.

Which river is near Sheopur?

Sheopur, which serves as the district headquarters, is located on the right bank of the Seep River.

What language is spoken in the Sheopur district?

According to the 2011 Indian Census, in Sheopur district, 94.27% of the population spoke Hindi as their native language. Additionally, Urdu was spoken by 2.02% of the population, Handuri by 1.73%, and Punjabi by 0.91%.