Maharashtra District List

Enter the Pincode or Location Below in the Box

Pincodes of Maharashtra

Maharashtra Pincodes: Discover the diverse range of postal codes in the vibrant state of Maharashtra, India, with Pincodes of My Location. Maharashtra boasts an extensive network of pincodes that cover its bustling cities, serene towns, and picturesque villages. From the bustling metropolis of Mumbai to the culturally rich city of Pune, and from the historic sites of Aurangabad to the pristine beaches of Goa, we’ve got you covered. Explore the vast database of Maharashtra’s pincodes to easily locate your destination, plan deliveries, or simply satisfy your curiosity. Whether you’re a local resident or a traveler, our website provides a comprehensive list of Maharashtra’s pincodes for your convenience.
Maharashtra Pincodes

Here is a list of Maharashtra Pincodes

14Jalna Maharashtra
18Nagpur Maharashtra
22Osmanabad Maharashtra
31Thane Maharashtra
34Yawatmal Maharashtra

About Maharashtra

Maharashtra, often abbreviated as MH or Maha, is a prominent state situated in the western peninsular region of India, encompassing a significant portion of the Deccan Plateau. Bordered by the Arabian Sea to the west, it shares its boundaries with the Indian states of Karnataka and Goa to the south, Telangana to the southeast, and Chhattisgarh to the east. To the north, it is surrounded by Gujarat and Madhya Pradesh, while to the northwest, it shares borders with the Indian union territory of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu. Maharashtra stands as India’s second-most populous state and the world’s third-most populous country subdivision.


Numerous Late Harappan or Chalcolithic sites, representing the Jorwe culture (c. 1300–700 BCE), dot Maharashtra. Among them, Daimabad stands out as the largest settlement, fortified with mud walls and featuring an elliptical temple with fire pits. During this era, a significant migration from Gujarat to northern Maharashtra occurred. In the fourth and third centuries BCE, the Maurya Empire held sway over Maharashtra. By around 230 BCE, the Satavahana dynasty took control, ruling for four centuries. Subsequent dynasties included the Western Satraps, Gupta Empire, Gurjara-Pratihara, Vakataka, Kadambas, Chalukya Empire, Rashtrakuta Dynasty, Western Chalukya, and the Yadava Dynasty. The Ajanta Caves, located in present-day Aurangabad, exhibit influences from both Satavahana and Vakataka artistic styles, suggesting possible excavation during their reigns.


According to the 2011 national census, Maharashtra held the title of India’s wealthiest state and ranked second in population, housing 112,374,333 people, contributing to 9.28% of the nation’s populace. Of this, 58,243,056 were males, and 54,131,277 were females. The 2011 population growth rate was 15.99%, lower than the preceding decade’s 22.57%. Generally, Maharashtra’s population growth rate remained higher than the national average since independence, with a rare exception in 1971. In 2011, it dipped below the national average. Rural inhabitants constituted 55%, while 45% lived in urban areas. The largest caste cluster, estimated from 1931 data, is the Maratha and Maratha-kunbi, comprising 32% of the population.


Maharashtra, encompassing a vast expanse of 307,713 square kilometers (118,809 square miles), ranks as India’s third-largest state in terms of land area. This sprawling region contributes significantly, comprising 9.36 percent of India’s total geographical territory. Positioned between latitudes 15°35′ N to 22°02′ N and longitudes 72°36′ E to 80°54′ E, Maharashtra occupies a prominent position in Western and Central India. Its coastline extends a remarkable 840 kilometers along the Arabian Sea, adding to its geographical diversity. The state’s defining geographical trait is its expansive plateau terrain, separated from the Konkan coastline by the imposing Western Ghats mountain range, also known as the Sahyadri Range. 


Maharashtra operates under a parliamentary system of representative democracy, mirroring the governance structure of other Indian states. Notably, it is among the six states in India with a bicameral legislature, comprising the Vidhan Sabha (Legislative Assembly) and the Vidhan Parishad (Legislative Council). The Legislative Assembly consists of 288 elected members, including officials like the Speaker and Deputy Speaker. Members serve five-year terms unless the Assembly dissolves earlier. Meanwhile, the Legislative Council is a permanent body of 78 members, with one-third (33 members) retiring every two years. Maharashtra holds 48 seats in the Lok Sabha (lower chamber) and 19 seats in the Rajya Sabha (upper chamber) of the Indian Parliament.


Why is Maharashtra famous?

Maharashtra, India's major commercial hub, known as the "Gateway of India," is renowned for its rich culture and captivating beauty. UNESCO-listed Ajanta and Ellora cave paintings are must-visit tourist attractions.

Which is the capital of Maharashtra?

Mumbai, Maharashtra's capital, is India's foremost financial, commercial, and entertainment hub, formerly known as Bombay until 1995. This article explores its significance in India's financial landscape and Maharashtra's prominence.

Why Maharashtra is so proud?

Maharashtra, birthplace of Chhatrapati Shivaji, who founded the Maratha Empire, played a pivotal role in ending Mughal rule. It's also known for Bajirao Peshwa, an undefeated warrior.

What is Maharashtra famous food?

Fast food is a hit in metropolitan areas like Mumbai and Pune. Favorites include bhaji, vada pav, misal pav, and pav bhaji. Traditional options like sabudana khichadi and panipuri are also popular, all predominantly lacto-vegetarian.

What is the old name of Mumbai?

In 1995, Bombay officially reverted to its original name, Mumbai, shedding the colonial-era moniker. The term "Bombay" may have derived from "Mumbai" or the Portuguese "Bom Baim" (meaning "Good Harbour").